• Archives

  • Topics

  • Love Meter

    • 700,456 hits
  • Classic Posts

    Inappropriate Halloween Costume 2008
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2007 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 , Part 4 , Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2006 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.

David Hockney, I wish I knew you

I visited the David Hockney Portraiture exhibit at LACMA. Beautiful day, methane fumes STRONG at the Tar Pits. Forked over the$15 special exhibit fee. (I am always surprised at museum entrance fees, having been spoiled as a child and not knowing it by the free-loving Smithsonian Institute.) The Hockney exhibit is cool… great paintings, collages and sketches detailing the important people in his life. A neat vision of his celebrity friends, family and lovers. I don’t care much for the massive, blobular painting of Divine. I prefer the clean-looking paintings with bright colors, crisp lines and minimal tchotchkes. I love, love, love his Polaroid – and other photo – collages. The Scrabble piece is awesome.

I wonder if The Getty put Pearblossom Highway back in rotation yet in the Contemporary Art wing. It’s been out of sight for a few years now to preserve the integrity of the images. Pearblossom Highway is my favorite. It’s the California I love. Also the California my ex-air conditioner repairman / Quincy Jones’ backup singer loves. Upon seeing my poster he says, “Man, I LIVE there!”

Leave a Reply

