• Archives

  • Topics

  • Love Meter

    • 699,596 hits
  • Classic Posts

    Inappropriate Halloween Costume 2008
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2007 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 , Part 4 , Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2006 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.

Phone Scam targets Baby Hatchetfone!

For many years I have enjoyed peace and quite, with the occasional call here and there, on Baby Hatchetfone. Although infrequently dialed it was infamous for its bulk, prompting many to say, hey, let me see your phone! Oh, you’re the one with the huge phone. And, WTF is that? Cute compact purses were out. It’s extendable antenna garnered even more laughter. I loved that phone. Yes, it was outdated when I purchased it in 1999. Even more so when it finally made its last call in 2004. The duo of young, overly chatty salesmen at the Sprint counter at the mall, even having been warned, were shocked into silence when I handed it over at trade-in.

A few weeks ago my cell phone tranquility was broken with an ever-increasing barrage of mysterious phone calls. I answer them because they have Los Angeles exchanges and could be a friend or something… besides, their digits are looking more and more familiar. Now, in a bad way. Upon answering, a pre-recorded Spanish message spools mid-pitch. I don’t speak Spanish so I hang up. I imagine those Cayman Island phone scams where you get charged $25 per minute for being fooled into pressing the # sign.

As my number is unlisted, after the fourth call I reverse phone search it. Nothing. After the eighth call I google it. A wealth of creepy information about 323-927-1550 and 323-957-1550 can be found here. I’ve garnered that it’s a scam involving a free camera originating from a Mexican operation in Los Angeles. My underwear-obsessed nutball cousin got suckered into one of those and BOY was it not pretty to get her out.

Just a heads up, folks. Tag this number, ‘cuz it’ll will show up on your caller ID, and label it: SCAM.

Leave a Reply

