• Archives

  • Topics

  • Love Meter

    • 700,140 hits
  • Classic Posts

    Inappropriate Halloween Costume 2008
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2007 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 , Part 4 , Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2006 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.

Hatchetface and Waters on the Tube

Cry Baby

When I was a wee lass, we had a television operated by a cracked knob and moveable insect-like rabbit ears. The Machine and I would have to oft punch the top of the television to stop the rolling picture. We had a choice of 5 channels. Four were fuzzy and one was Paramount 20. On Sunday afternoons, Paramount 20 would program John Waters movies. Nothing too harsh like Pink Flamingos or Desperate Living. But Hairspray and Cry Baby were especially popular.

In the early 90s I got crazy into cinema and would either watch weird Japanese movies from the library or read books about movies. I found a biography/interview of John Waters in the stacks, a book which I believe to now be out of print. But this piece of Waters advice stood out: Put a lot of sex in your first movie because even if it’s terrible, people will still go to see it.

I wish Mr. Waters and I could sit down and discuss the crabby crab. And to think I told Roxie it was fake!

In related news, I dunno about y’all but John Travolta is looking mighty scary as Divine in the new Hairspray. Yikes.

John Travolta in Hairspray

What the hell, Travolta. You don’t need to convince me. I know it all, wink wink.

And finally I’ll leave you with these gems from Cry Baby:

The Judge: By the way, that’s a shame about your face.
Hatchet-Face: There’s nothing the matter with my face. I got character!

Leave a Reply

