• Archives

  • Topics

  • Love Meter

    • 699,597 hits
  • Classic Posts

    Inappropriate Halloween Costume 2008
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2007 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 , Part 4 , Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2006 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.

Hollywood Cake

D2 and Daisy come to Los Angeles for a drama-packed, booze-infused, Cure-heavy New York wedding. D2 is all riled that the alterna groom-poseur did not allow the Electric Slide. I, for one, have never been partial to the Electric Slide except when performed by Meathead but agree that The Cure, as much as I’m a fan, is a tad wedding-inappropriate. D2 relates that the weekend’s events include a scene at the horrid Standard wherein a sketchy bouncer charged $20 per passenger for an elevator ride to the PRE-rented penthouse which led do a drunken brawl-bawl in the wee hours of the morn’ and, later, a shout-match over a pair of earrings in a unfathomably expensive store on Melrose. This is why I stay on the right side of the hill and let nature eliminate itself on the other side.

Over breakfast at Mel’s, D2 and I gossip about typically insane family junk while Daisy, now a Columbia-certified nutritionist, serenely eats his rack of ribs. D2 asserts that pastry chef-dom at that fancy NYC restaurant where Robert Redford, Jessica Lange and Sam Shephard frequent is an experience to be out and out hated and has the untreated third degree burns to prove it. I throw in that I, though usually content, am financially stressed. Too many ideas, too little money. We drive around for a while on Mullholland and I show off my waning celebrity knowledge by pointing out Charleton Heston’s house. Then D2 makes us go to Sweet Lady Jane, a crazy delicious cake shop around Melrose / La Cienega and we get $6 cake slices of unbelievable quality. My stomach hurts because of the insane caloric intake but I keep forcing down bites throughout the day.

All the while the sun shines in the bright blue sky and a pleasant breeze keeps the air in the comfortable 70s… one of the many perfect California days which I forget until it is mentioned and I am happy for a moment that I don’t have to wear winter coats and see rain sogging dead tree leaves. We return to the stealthy swank hotel with the rooftop pool and Tom Skerritt laughing in the exercise room and say goodbye. I wind my car through the hills and head for home.

Leave a Reply

