• Archives

  • Topics

  • Love Meter

    • 700,458 hits
  • Classic Posts

    Inappropriate Halloween Costume 2008
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2007 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 , Part 4 , Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2006 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.

Circus Mexicano

First and foremost, RIP Robert Altman, one of my favorite directors. You gave greatness when I so profoundly needed it.

Next, I espied an apparent Circus Mexicano, a block southwest of Lankershim on Victory. A big red and yellow striped tent billowed from a slab of pavement which magically grew five sizes to accommodate the ado. One cannot see what’s inside the tent nor read the signs if one is not Spanish-literate. The tent could hold mattresses or bicycles or screen-print t-shirts and mismatched stacks of Levis but its pulsing vivre suggest otherwise. I really hope it’s a circus. Who can I drag there? Who indeed.

I googled “Circus” and “North Hollywood” but was met only with information on Circus Liquor(s) (new crunking clown mural is criminey SCARY) and The California Institute of Abnormal Arts. I am not entirely sure what they do over there at CIA but considering we’re practically neighbors I suppose I’d better find out. Perhaps it’s something with a vivid name like Jumbo’s Clown Room that, in reality, is a pallid establishment. (I really can’t bring myself to create a link.) At least that’s what Lens says. I don’t condone nudie bars just expected JCR to offer more than ho-hum ambiance. Some online reviews claim that it hosts “attitudnal strippers” like former employee Courtney Love but all live reviews I’ve heard relate that it’s the usual bag. Maybe that’s why all the “hipsters” love it.

As they say here in the valley GMWAS!

Leave a Reply

