• Archives

  • Topics

  • Love Meter

    • 699,764 hits
  • Classic Posts

    Inappropriate Halloween Costume 2008
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2007 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 , Part 4 , Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2006 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.

Time Capsule for My Ages

What started out as a mini-project has become an obsession, stalling my other productive efforts like stalking down a job that pays a livable wage. I started surfing for information about Granny’s family who was very prominent in the Chicago area. Like modern buildings named after them prominent. I would probably find it weirder if the buildings bore my actual last name. Anyway, because of their “standing” in the community, they are well-archived by the local libraries and historical association. Via modern technology and a device known as the “internet” I am been able to locate photographs from the 1920s, newspaper articles from the ’40s and other documents which predate Grampy.

So then I got to thinking that Grampy should have some representation in all of this too. His family was very much Pennsylvania working class. Would anyone really care about a carpenter and his science genius son from the boonies? Well, due to the amazing cataloging abilities at The National Archives and Records Administration (how I wish they’d hire me!) I’ve unearthed various original census documents, draft cards and Civil War pension claims. Really, it was that easy. Great-Grampy’s WWII draft card is quite a head spin. He was 64 and blind in one eye when he filled out the form but my god, his signature is almost EXACTLY like that of his kin. Creepy and trippy!

I can’t wait ’til I make a trip to the local library and get my hands on some microfiche!

Leave a Reply

