• Archives

  • Topics

  • Love Meter

    • 700,458 hits
  • Classic Posts

    Inappropriate Halloween Costume 2008
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2007 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 , Part 4 , Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2006 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.

Haircut To-do

I need a haircut. The last time I got an official one was over a year ago. Holy cats! Since then I’ve been utilizing the o’ scissors method (which I have yet to master). I broke out the flattening iron yesterday and made this beast all straight and smooth and plucked out a tendril and measured it. It was exactly two feet long. A bit excessive indeed. And misleading as with its natural kink, it’s at least half that length. I am admittedly hesitant about going to the hairdresser because due to the make of my hair, it’s a super expensive experience. And as always, I warn the hairdresser that there’s a lot to work with, they deny it, and then pushing into the second hour they’re like, phew, girl, I’ve never seen anything like this. “You’re so lucky to have this kind of hair!” and “What color!” and then the rest of the salon staff, as well as the other patrons, get involved, suggesting this technique or that technique to bend my hair to their will.

Only VA Deep has been 100% successful. I have found that the most effective method involves a chemical straightener (like a reverse perm) followed by a shampoo, conditioner, blow dry with de-frizzing oil and touched up by a flat iron. So, as you can imagine, it’s quite a process. I mean, yes, out in public I average about a compliment a month from strangers regarding the unusual nature of my hair (less that 4% of the pop. even carry the gene!) but sweet Pedro, that doesn’t really diminish my daily anguish, humidity concerns or desire to have a “wake up and go” kind of ‘do.

Oh, by the way, according to some scientific study, people of my kind will be extinct by 2100.

Leave a Reply

