• Archives

  • Topics

  • Love Meter

    • 700,458 hits
  • Classic Posts

    Inappropriate Halloween Costume 2008
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2007 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 , Part 4 , Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.
    Inappropriate Halloween Costumes 2006 Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7 and Part 8.

Garage Sales, Ghost Towns and Penny Slots

I had a yard sale and within 3 hours I had sold $177 worth of unwanted crap.  Granted, some of the items were brand-name deals but the biggest sellers, BY FAR, were the mini-plastic baggies full of hastily strung pieces of broken jewelry for $1 each.  If I were out here selling such crap every weekend, I’d be hella rich, homes.  Then again, the local gangs would most likely shake me down for a “service fee.”

In other news, Ma and I drove through the boiling Mojave, hit up a ghost town and sputtered into Las Vegas on fumes.  Despite the triple digits, we managed to score some nice deals on show tickets.  I particularly enjoyed Spamalot at the Wynn.  I tried previously appreciating Monty Python works and couldn’t get hooked.  But the third time’s a charm and I really dug the absurdity and physical comedy of the musical.  I found an amazingly stocked bead store which, bizarrely didn’t have what I was looking for, though I was compelled to make a few purchases anyway.  Ma’s poison was the slots (unusual for her overall lifestyle) and we played mainly the copper dropper pennies and a few nickel slots.  The nickels were far kinder to me and all in all I ended up $20 ahead while Ma lost about $9 on the pennies.

That means, and I’ll do the math here, that as a team we’re $11 ahead and that ain’t half bad.

Leave a Reply

